top of page
Makena Mueller

AND On...




Annie Warbucks at Landmark Musical Theatre has officially closed, as of this past Sunday, April 9th. Having a five-week run in the heart of San Francisco, this experience taught me so much about being a performer: flexibility, adaptability, and what's needed to bring not one, but two, principal characters to life.


Due to unfortunate illness, I was granted the opportunity to play the villainous Sheila Kelly a little more than expected, which was an utter joy, particularly due to Elena Ruggiero (our Commissioner Doyle), who was the absolute best scene partner a person could ask for!


Switching from the brunette to the blonde: Grace Farrell, whom I had the opportunity to portray in a majority of our performances, taught me so much. About finding the moments in stillness to make strong choices, and about finding the strength in a character that may at first seem passive. Often in my theatrical past, I have been blessed with roles that are active and larger-than-life, smart-mouthed and loud-mouthed ladies who know what they want and are willing to fight for it. Grace is very much not that kind of woman, and finding her through myself was revelatory in many ways.


The kiddos in both casts of our show were incredibly inspiring to work with, as well. While onstage they are all very talented, it was how lovely they were offstage that warmed my heart. Often as I would walk off into the wings, one would come up to me with a thumbs-up, or to tell me I did a good job. They truly made the show feel like a tight-knit little group, especially our Annies who I spent the majority of time with in regards to the children: Vivian Amirault and Madelyn Simon.


Thank you to all those that came to support me and the local theater here in SF! Hopefully more clips and pics will be coming soon!

Comments


  • Instagram @makmueller
  • Facebook
  • Twitter Makena Mueller
bottom of page